About Us


The Deep Cove Heritage Society warmly welcomes you to browse our website or drop by our office to learn more about this area of the District of North Vancouver as well as to encourage you contribute your stories about the Seymour area.

Our communities include Deep Cove, Indian Arm, Cove Cliff/Strathcona, Dollarton, Roche Point, Indian River, Parkway, Parkgate, Northlands, McCarntney Woods, Tsleil-Waututh Nation, Windsor Park, Blueridge, Seymour Heights, Windridge, Maplewood, Riverside East and Mount Seymour. As a rapidly developing community, it is important to understand our heritage and to develop our sense of place and belonging.

Why did you choose to live or visit here? Was it the pull of the sea, the lush forests and the surrounding majestic mountains that caused our pioneers to first settle here?

Our environment, so full of natural beauty, has developed from a summer resort area to an ever-growing community. During our growth, we have seen many changes. People, businesses and industries have come and gone. Throughout all these changes the people who live here have kept their strong sense of place.

The Deep Cove Heritage Society is there for the public, be it general interest or research purposes. It was established in 1985 by a dedicated group of volunteers many of whom are still with us today. Our archives house a collection of over 4,000 photographs, some dating back to the turn of the century, as well as manuscript materials, maps, documents, and oral and written interviews with the area’s pioneers.

Click on graphic to enlarge. The tree on the left of the photos is the same one, now embellished with blackberry vines.


WINTER HOURS OPEN: Tues & Thurs 10am-4pm; Wed, Fri, Sat & Sun 1pm-4pm; Closed Mondays 1pm-4pm Other times when volunteers available Please phone to confirm hours before driving out
- Alex Douglas – President
- Tom Kirk – Vice President
- Louise Hart – Treasurer/Secretary
- Marilyn Myers – Director
- Eileen Smith - Director
- Vickie Boughen - Director
- Liz Bollman - Director

- Jim Slight - Co-ordinator
- Mechtild Morin
- Liz Jenkins Bollmann

- Hope Morris
- Vickie Boughen
- Wendy Bullen Stephenson
- Lynda Noel